Other Questions:

If a dart throw wins a game, and I continue to throw, what happens?

LinkToThisPage Button



InDepthInfo
In-Depth Information




Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Repetitive Moves in Chess

Question: Is there a rule against repetitive moves? For instance a king is in check and moves to a safe square. The checking piece then puts the king in check again. May the king re-occupy the vacated square, since it is now safe?

Answer: It is not a rule, but a convention. It is generally agreed by experienced players that three repeated moves in a row by BOTH players implies a tie. But this only applies when both players are aware of the convention and agree to it. In theory, the repetition can continue indefinitely, but that would not be very sporting would it? If you get in this situation and do not want to agree to a tie, then don't make a repeated move on the third try.

Chess Notation


Contact Us | Privacy Statement